The Ladybug’s Roman Holiday, pt. 1: When in Rome… Go to the Frida Kahlo Expo

The Ladybug Chronicles - Frida Kahlo 06

I think that I have already expressed my love for Frida Kahlo here on the blog or somewhere else, as she is most definitely one of my favorite artists ever, my fashion icon (a real one!) and an inspirational woman at the same time.

This is why, when I saw that Rome was going to celebrate her at the Scuderie del Quirinale with an expo completely dedicated to her, I started organizing my weekend trip to Rome… specifically for this event. And believe me, it was a great idea! Not only because it was a great weekend and I enjoyed Rome immensely, but also because the expo itself was incredibly rich and moving.

The Ladybug Chronicles - Frida Kahlo 02

The Ladybug Chronicles - Frida Kahlo 03

I decided to go for a guided tour as I know that Frida’s work is full of symbols and allegories and that her real life was particularly related to her work: I wanted to know more about her and this time not only through movies and books but absorb her life directly through her work.  I can only tell you that I was near tears at the end of the guided tour. I decided to go back and take a second tour by myself stopping again at those paintings, drawings and especially photographs representing her. I think that if I lived in Rome I would have gone back and see it again (it is up until the 9th of August, btw).

I just couldn’t stop drinking and eating it all, when I emerged from the expo I felt that I wanted to see and know more and that two floors of her work were simply not enough!

The Ladybug Chronicles - Frida Kahlo 01

The Ladybug Chronicles - Frida Kahlo 04

Still, I enjoyed the rest of the day out and about in this amazing city eating my favorite Roman food and enjoying it all. I also took some pictures around, especially at the Fontana di Trevi.

I wore a completely casual outfit as I knew that I had to walk a lot and I wanted to be comfortable all day:

I wore a Topshop denim shirt, Zara sweatpants, Nike trainers… but I tried to add some sparkle with my new Bizzaria earcuff (you can buy it here) and a Furla canvas bag from an old collection that I forgot I had, but was happy to find in my wardrobe again!

The Ladybug Chronicles - Frida Kahlo 05

One thought on “The Ladybug’s Roman Holiday, pt. 1: When in Rome… Go to the Frida Kahlo Expo

Leave a Reply

