The Ladybug has Her Head in the Clouds: Introducing Balossa at White in Milan

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 08

Fashion week recently concluded; a low point for me since I was super busy, making it hard to attend all the events and shows. But I took advantage of last weekend to head over to some presentations I was invited to check out.

First of my Saturday morning Fashion Week-end was the White Show in Milan to meet the emerging brand Balossa.

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 07

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 05

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 06

Before meeting the beautiful and talented Indra Kaffemanaite, the designer and owner of the brand, I did some research online to get to know her better, and when I landed on their site (www.balossashirt.com) I completely lost my mind. Fell in love. Badly. Totally. Completely. Desperately.

She is a shirt designer. Shirts… Yes, only shirts and mostly white. But calling her creations just shirts is seriously understatement: they are artistic creations, they have an architecture that sometimes look like origami or paper sculptures… other times white birds or dancing ballet dancers. These shirts have movement and dimensions. They are dynamic, fluctuant… aerial.

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 04

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 01

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 03

When I saw them in person I fell in love even more, if that was possible! You know my love for white shirts mostly because they are the easiest way (yet super chic) to pair with vintage pieces in daily wear (at work essentially, like I do). But I’ve always seen them as a vehicle, if I can say like that, to introduce vintage without shocking too much (I call it “I’m being myself, but I am a team player” attitude!). Balossa’s FW2015 collection just opened my view on white shirts because the attention was all on the shirts! Not a vehicle, but a real statement: I wear a unstructured shirt therefore I am! There is no space for other pieces when you wear a Balossa shirt!

The Ladybug Chronicles - Balossa 02

BALOSSA_15-16_PH004

This is what happened with Indra Kaffemanaite, the soul and incredibly talented designer behind this brand of these amazing shirts: this is her first collection and she told me that after working with a Japanese designer, she completely changed her mind about the white shirt and started imagining and designing these wonderful pieces of art that you can find and buy on their site. She told me that for her the white shirt continues to be the most surprising piece ever: it is practical, easy to wear, sexy and cool- but she gave an honest new life to our favorite piece!  Vintage in a completely new and modern version!

Green light to a new style made of volume, games and artistic details… modern lines, asymmetries, draperies, cut-outs, plunging necklines on the back, softness and sculptural, Balossa shirts that can be formal or sporty, but always incredibly sexy with great personality.

How could I resist? Of course, I’ve already chosen my first Balossa, can you guess?

BALOSSA_15-16_PH003

BALOSSA_15-16_PH002

BALOSSA_15-16_PH001

Leave a Reply

