The Ladybug Rallies the Army of White Shirts (“La camicia bianca secondo me”, G. Ferré)

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 01

For how surprising as it may seem, I am not a huge fan of fashion exhibits: most times I leave them with a huge sense of disappointment. Maybe because the perfection I see within “style” is very hard to find nowadays, maybe I’m too nostalgic about an era that I will never live or I just feel that I could never wear these pieces in my life; whatever it is, I can’t explain it… But still, I go to fashion expos and mostly because I simply won’t begrudge the invitation in hopes of an exceptional case of true “fashion.” The exhibit held in Palazzo Reale, “ La camicia Bianca secondo me” (the White Shirt in my opinion), was a sort of anthology of the white shirts designed by Gianfranco Ferré, and this ladies and gentlemen, was one of those exceptional cases.

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 02

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 03

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 04

Ok; maybe I didn’t leave with this slight sense of nostalgic disappointment, but it was really worth a visit.

When you enter the wonderful Sala delle Cariatidi and see this twenty-seven white pieces standing like soldiers in the dark- illuminated with white lights you can immediately feel a sense of excitement for what you are going to see. And it is just the beginning: every piece tells a story of magic. It is really hard for me to explain with words what I saw and what I felt. As I read somewhere online “It is here that taffetas, crepe of China, organza, satin, tulle, cotton, silk come in succession in an emotional crescendo that leads to ecstasy.”

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 05

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 12

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 06

As I am not good enough with words to describe these wonderful creations, I thought that sharing some of my pictures might help!

The white shirt is maybe the most representative piece in Gianfranco Ferré’s fashion career. The sophisticated white shirt quickly became his personal signature in fashion design: in every collection he created one or more pieces that, even representing the fil rouge that linked his work with the Italian sartorial tradition, expressed the exciting challenge of breaking the rules, exaggerating the details in quite an architectural way (Ferré was indeed an architect and he was dubbed “the architect of fashion”).

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 07

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 11

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 08

On the sides were all of the materials from the archive of the Fondazione Ferré, including original sketches, projects and phptographs from the runaways and fashion magazines.

For the occasion I wore a vintage white shirt from Vintage Divas Store in Ljubljana, Replay grey jeans, Topshop animal print coat, Tosca Blu ankle boots and my small Balenciaga bag. I added a handmade black headpiece by Madame Ilary from my turban collection.

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 09

The Ladybug Chronicles - Gianfranco FerrŽ 10

Leave a Reply

