The Ladybug’s Magically Delicious Roman Holiday

The Ladybug Chronicles - Roman Holiday 02

There is always a good excuse for a Roman weekend: this time it was visiting the Matisse’s Arabesque exhibit at the Scuderie del Quirinale with my lovely Roman BFF!

For once, I left my usual hunt of vintage shops and decided to get completely absorbed into Roman life: from delicious food, to running (and spinning) and to wonderful night walk just enjoying the air, aroma and the great company!

I truly love Milan and sometimes I feel like I don’t want to be elsewhere other than there (well, not all the time, even if I have to admit my urge of being always “somewhere else” has calmed!) but leaving it for a weekend is also refreshing- especially when you know that you’ll return!

The Ladybug Chronicles - Roman Holiday 01

The Ladybug Chronicles - Roman Holiday 03

The Ladybug Chronicles - Roman Holiday 05

We started the weekend with a great run in Ostia, in the beautiful pine grove along the sea (two things that I often miss in Milan, a pine grove and the sea!). Later we headed to the amazing Matisse’s exhibit and then enjoyed a good walk in great company of new and old friends: vino and the best “cacio e pepe” pasta ever in the Garbatella neighborhood (Il ristoro degli angeli is one of the restaurants that you must absolutely try if you are visiting the eternal city!). By the way, if you’re looking for a perfect retro inspired and absolutely vintage accomodation when in Rome, I suggest you to consider the Hotel Oceania. Its location is perfect! And the decor (from the original vintage floor and the amazing antique pieces) makes you dream in black and white while you live in color!

Sunday was a day for sport again, spinning this time (good ol’ spinning!) before the greatest lunch chez one by the best chef in Rome: my friend’s lovely mum! With the sand in the hourglass of my trip completely empty, I left Rome with the usual promise of going back again soon!

At the Matisse exhibit I wore a Marks and Spencer white shirt with a thrifted skirt from Epiphany Vintage in Frankfurt, H&M leather jacket, Tosca Blu ankle boots, Miu Miu handbag and a Rokit Vintage London turban.

The Ladybug Chronicles - Roman Holiday 06

The Ladybug Chronicles - Roman Holiday 04

Leave a Reply

