The Ladybug’s best discovery of 2015: Heka Couture!

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (9)

You know I love collaborations because they always mean double talent (when there is talent on both sides!) or at least double creativity and double effort. If you think about that many successful brands are created by couples: Dolce & Gabbana, Viktor and Rolf, Marchesa, Peter Pilotto, Proenza Schouler, DSquared2 and many others.

I don’t want to fly too high but some time ago I was introduced by my friend Ilaria, founder of Madame Ilary, to Gemma Vernò, founder of Gemma Vernò Hats, one of the greatest milliners that I have met so far.

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (5)

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (1)

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (6)

I love their work and I am a huge fan of their incredible handmade pieces, so you can imagine my joy when Ilaria told me that they were about to launch a new brand together with only handmade pieces and the best Italian quality regarding fabrics and cuts. The new brand is called Heka Couture and it was launched during the Milan Fashion Week at the Eivissa store in Milan with a lovely party where, together with Gemma and Ilaria, Eivissa’s owner Laura and my friend Simona we played the models wearing our favorite pieces from Heka Couture.

I try to show you as much pieces as possible but the collection includes hats, turbans, jabots, collars, culottes, waistcoats, dresses, jackets, skirts and trousers to die for! The shades are basically grey and black with some white every now and there, just to face the upcoming winter season in perfect style.

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (3)

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (2)

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (4)

The cuts are vintage inspired (one of the reasons why I loved them so much!) but the shapes are always essential; the use of top quality fabrics like lace and velvet add a sophisticated touch.

We tried to style some of our favorite pieces like the lace collar, the long waistcoat and the incredible hats and turbans, the coordinated tops and downs and the wonderful long dress worn by Laura.

Simona and I also wore a skirt and a bow jabot from Madame Ilary; I added Dixie black culottes, 8 brogues and Zara white shirt.

You can find Heka Couture on Facebook (you can contact Gemma and Ilaria privately) or at some pop-up events in Milan that I will definitely mention on my Facebook page! So follow us both there 😉

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (8)

The Ladybug Chronicles Heka Couture (7)

Leave a Reply

