The Ladybug (finally) meets Amélie Nothomb

The Ladybug Chronicles - Amélie Nothomb (2)

When I started my blog I needed to understand on which of my many passions I needed to focus on: Vintage? Travel? Running? Books? Movies? But also make-up, tea parties, fashion, shoes, bags?

I must confess that I am a curious girl: I am always willing to learn and to discover new things, which may explain why I have so many interests and basically so many things to blog about.

I decided that I was going to focus on vintage and more in particular on bringing it into our daily life, with a bag, a pair of shoes or just a lifestyle but I have kept adding my other passions to it: I often write about my travels, my sport achievements, the movies and books that I loved, makeup and beauty and many other things even if I always try to keep them linked to vintage.

Why did I start my post with this long introduction? Well, today I am going to tell you about that day, a few weeks ago, when I finally met one of my favorite writers, Belgian author Amélie Nothomb, possibly the most “vintage” writer I’ve ever read, not for her age or style but because her writing has a retro something that I’ve never found anywhere else. Let’s add to this that she has a great personal style and that you will never see her in other colors than black or without her huge hats!

The Ladybug Chronicles - Amélie Nothomb (4)

The Ladybug Chronicles - Amélie Nothomb (1)

My “love affair” with her books started many years ago, I was probably in my last year at University and I was going around for book shopping (an habit that didn’t disappear after all these years!) with one of my best friends since then. She bought “Loving Sabotage” and suggested me to do the same as she read great things about the writer. We both read it in less than two days and – amazed by the reading- we decided to read it again in French and to look for more books of Amélie Nothomb. In a couple of weeks we read almost everything she wrote in French (if you can read French you can really enjoy her in her native language). Since then every new book means a happy moment in my life, when I can finally read something new from her (this happens only with my other favorite writer, Hanif Kureishi).

A few weeks ago she was in Milan to present her new book The Crime of Count Neville in many bookshops in town and I finally managed to meet her (and to have an autographed copy of the book!) at 10 Corso Como. She was lovely and fun (exactly how I expected her to be!), wearing of course a huge black hat and totally dressed in black!

I wanted to ask her if she wears vintage sometimes but I decided to talk only books in the few minutes that I could share with her: I really needed to thank her for being such a prolific writer and for making people lives a bit better with her incredible talent.

By the way, if you have never read anything from her look for Loving Sabotage in your nearest bookshop: I promise you will jump online after reading it to look for more books just like I did! Don’t forget to let me know (or to thank me for that!!!)

The Ladybug Chronicles - Amélie Nothomb (3)

Leave a Reply

