The Ladybug’s vintage tour of London pt.1

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (5)

London is just London: there is no right words to describe my love for this city. I try to go back every year because I feel the need to be there, to breath the air, to feel the atmosphere, to get lost in its amazing views, to discover something new that I didn’t know yet, to walk down the streets to find new details and feelings that this wonderful city still offers to me every time I go and stay for a while.

This time it was a long weekend to visit some friends, hang around, visit museums, go for shopping and of course vintage hunting!

On Friday evening I discovered a lovely place to eat, The Refinery, just near my hotel in Bankside where I enjoyed a good dinner, the company of great friends and the fresh air of London in a beautiful night in a vintage inspired atmosphere.

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (3)

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (1)

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (2)

The day after we started with a long walk along the Thames and a visit to the amazing Tate Modern a few days before the opening of the new building. It was such a pleasure to get lost in one of the best modern art galleries in the world! We also enjoyed a walk in the area (including Shakespeare’s Globe). We had a lovely lunch with friends at the Founders Arms pub, with a beautiful view on the Thames, Millennium Bridge and Blackfriars Bridge and of course Saint Paul cathedral on the other side of the river!

After lunch we immediately headed to Brick Lane, one of my favorite areas of London for vintage hunting. I couldn’t help stopping at my favorite places: Rokit, Blitz, Beyond Retro and Absolute Vintage! But one of the greatest things about Brick Lane is that you can decide to wander and get lost in this area and every time that you do so you will discover a new gem, a new place that you have never seen before! That’s how I found for example the lovely Vintage Basement in Cheshire street on my way to Beyond Retro!

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (6)

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (4)

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (7)

Don’t be surprised if I tell you that I didn’t buy anything…I was just enjoying the vintage hunting!

That same day I made another great discovery for dinner: the Taiwanese restaurant BAO, a tiny place in the West End, where we tasted the famous bao (in the picture below). We also discovered that it is one of the favorite places of many Londoners! Just try to eat there after your shopping in Oxford Street: you cannot book but the queue is very quick even on a Saturday evening and I promise you won’t regret it!

For the day I wore vintage shirt from Everybody’s Buying Vintage, Dixie culottes, IL2L fringed leather jacket, Nike 4 & Other Stories white sneakers and Miu Miu bag.

The Ladybug Chronicles London 1 (8)

2 thoughts on “The Ladybug’s vintage tour of London pt.1

Leave a Reply

