The Ladybug found Paris…in Monza!

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (2)

Although I have been living in Milan for more than four years now, I never visited Monza. It is only 15 minutes by train from Milan but I never had the occasion to go there. Not that I didn’t want to; I was very curious especially because every time it was mentioned the first reaction of people involved in the conversation was: “Ah, Monza…lovely”!

Indeed, lovely! Now I know that it is the perfect way to describe it!

When I heard that I could have a second occasion to visit the Robert Doisneau exhibit (“Le merveilleux Quotidien”) in Monza – I missed the first one in Milan years ago – I thought it was also the perfect excuse to have a short visit of the town.

I invited a friend of mine to join me and we spent a beautiful Saturday in Monza, visiting the exhibit and doing a little bit of sightseeing!

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (1)

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (3)

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (4)

Doisneau’s exhibition was just wonderful: I didn’t know that much about his photography, except for the famous “Le baiser de l’Hôtel de Ville” and I was amazed to discover his art, especially the beautiful street photos of Paris. Eighty photographs were exposed from his early works until the 70’s, describing the life of his adored Paris. Moments of simplicity and authenticity portrayed in his photographs can lead to pure emotion to those who admire them.

The exhibit was held in the historical Arengario di Monza, in the city center, a few steps away from the beautiful Cathedral (currently under restoration). You don’t easily get lost in Monza, but walking through the old streets of the city center is such an experience! Beautiful landscapes are everywhere especially if you cross the Lambro river on one of the typical bridges.

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (5)

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (7)

We dedicated our afternoon to the visit of the amazing Royal Villa of Monza with the beautiful gardens and the incredible art exhibitions. Once used as private residence of the Austrian royals, the Villa now hosts events and art exhibitions. The magnificent gardens around the building are not only a fresh shelter during the hot summer days, but also an amazing park to walk, run or just take the sun in the beautiful nature.

If I can suggest a lovely place to eat if you visit Monza I loved the Locanda Bergamotto, a lovely restaurant not far from the city center (a few minute walk) with young and welcoming personnel and where you can taste typical Italian dishes at affordable prices.

I wore Zara printed pants, & Other Stories shirt and Superga sneakers. I paired with Celine sunglasses and Miu Miu bag and Bao London canvas tote (a souvenir from my last trip in London!).

The Ladybug Chronicles Doisneau Monza (6)

2 thoughts on “The Ladybug found Paris…in Monza!

Leave a Reply

