The Ladybug is…at “David Bowie is”

the-ladybug-chronicles-david-bowie-is-4

When I first read about the “David Bowie is” exhibit at the V&A Museum in London I immediately thought that it was the perfect excuse for a trip to one my favorite cities! I was ready to buy a flight ticket just to see the exhibit; it only happened once before, when I was ready to fly to Paris to see Basquiat exhibition a few years before. In both cases the exhibits somehow came to me. Basquiat is still exposing at Mudec in Milan (I will share my visit soon here!) and “David Bowie is” was in Bologna until mid-November.

I took the occasion of my friends spending two days in Bologna also to see the exhibit during the All Saint’s bank holiday to join them. The first day we arrived at the Mambo museum without buying the tickets online and the queue was so long (more than three hours) that we decided to buy the tickets online for the day after. I couldn’t believe the long wait but when the day after we finally managed to see the exhibit I suddenly understood why so many people wanted to see it.

david-bowie-is-1

the-ladybug-chronicles-david-bowie-is-2

the-ladybug-chronicles-david-bowie-is-1

I have always loved David Bowies since I was a kid. I was not a huge fan but I have always admired his persona and his music, his way of changing and surprising, his art and flair. I consider him one of my favorite vintage icons. All of this things I love him for where at the exhibition

“David Bowie is” is a huge comprehensive journey into David Bowie’s career: “over 300 objects including handwritten lyrics, original costumes, photography, set designs, album artwork and rare performance material from the past five decades are brought together from the David Bowie Archive for the very first time. The exhibition demonstrates how Bowie’s work has both influenced and been influenced by wider movements in art, design, theatre and contemporary culture and focusses on his creative processes, shifting style and collaborative work with diverse designers in the fields of fashion, sound, graphics, theatre and film” (www.davidbowieis.it).

david-bowie-is2

david-bowie-is3

But it is not only about the content of the exhibit, it is also (or in particular) the way it is presented to the visitor: multi-media art is everywhere, animations and video installations makes you feel like a part of the art.

I can definitely say that it was one of the best exhibitions I have ever seen: I didn’t even want to leave the last room when I realized that the journey was over!

I wore my adored Twenty8Twelve military jacket with a vintage grey leather pencil skirt (a bargain from Humana Vintage in Milan!) and my Frida tee by Vanna Vinci with Michael Kors bucket bag.

I couldn’t take any pictures inside then the only pictures from the exhibit are taken from Google.

the-ladybug-chronicles-david-bowie-is-3

david-bowie-is4

Leave a Reply

